Overture to Overtown Annual Jazz Festival

Monday, March 7 – Sunday, March 20
The Betsy Hotel
1440 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach

The spirit of Overtown’s heyday as the ‘Harlem of the South’ comes alive and takes over The Betsy Hotel’s Lobby Bar for two weeks of non-stop live jazz performances during the hotel’s annual jazz festival. Inspired by Historic Overtown’s cultural contributions over the years, South Florida’s brightest and best talent unite for 13 unforgettable performances. Performances feature a diversity of artists, including Mike Gerber, Edil de Leon, Trad305, Lenard Rutledge, Markus Gottschlich, Tom Lippencott, Joel DaSilva, Yamit Lemoine with Vinyl Blvd, Ed Calle, and international performer (in collaboration with the Israeli Consulate) Nadav Remez. A few special events round out the festival including performances by the South Beach Chamber Ensemble (March 7 at 9:15 PM), the Wynwood Trio presented by The Miami Music Festival (March 8 at 7 PM), and a Busman’s holiday jam session (March 14 at 8 PM).

All performances are free and open to the public.

 

Schedule:

  • Monday, March 7, 9:15pm – 10:30pm – South Beach Chamber Ensemble, classics/jazz trio
  • Tuesday, March 8, 7pm – 8pm – Miami Music Festival: Wynwood Trio, classics/jazz trio
  • Tuesday, March 8pm – 11pm – Mike Gerber, solo pianist
  • Wednesday, March 9, 8pm – 11pm – Edil De leon, Latin jazz
  • Thursday, March 10, 8pm – 11pm – Trade305, jazz trio
  • Friday, March 11, 8pm – 11pm – Lenard Rutledge, vocal duo
  • Saturday, March 12, 1pm – 4pm – Markus Gottschlich with a special brunch performance
  • Monday, March 14, 8pm – 11pm – Busman’s Holiday Jam Session
  • Tuesday, March 15, 8pm – 11pm – Tom Lippincott, guitar
  • Wednesday, March 16, 8pm – 11pm – Joel DaSailva, soul & blues guitar
  • Thursday, March 17, 8pm – 11pm – Vinyl Blvd, trio
  • Friday, March 18, 8pm – 11pm – Dr. Ed Calle, saxophonist
  • Saturday, March 19, 1pm – 4pm – Mike Gerber with a special brunch performance
  • Sunday, March 30, 1pm – 4pm – Nadav Remez with a special brunch performance

 

 

Comments

Thanks for checking out our new site! We’ve changed a ton of stuff, and we’d love to know what you think.
Email feedback